Bar Representation Committee

Isabel DiVanna

Richard Atkins QC - St Philips Chambers, Birmingham
Fiona Jackson - 33 Chancery Lane

Lucinda Orr - Employed

Melissa Coutinho - Employed
Shobana Iyer - Swan Chambers
Andrew Langdon QC - Bar Council Staff (Chairman)
James Kitching - Employed
Rupert Jones - Citadel Chambers, Birmingham
Max Hardy - 9 Bedford Row
Hefin Rees QC - 39 Essex Street
Mark Rushton - Wilberforce Chambers
William Dean - 9 Gough Square
Hannah Kinch - 23 Essex Street
Robin Jackson - 3 Verulam Buildings
Taryn Lee QC - 37 Park Square, Leeds
Mark Hatcher - Bar Council Staff
Daniel Follon - Gray's Inn Chambers 
James Pezuy - St. Philips Chambers, Birmingham


The Terms of Reference are:

  1. To develop and keep under review a strategy for the provision of services to the Bar;
  2. To provide strategic direction and support to the Director of Services in relation to the development and implementation of services to members;
  3. To ensure that services are fit for purpose, competitively priced (if commercial) and meet the needs of the members of the Bar;
  4. To ensure that the Services function provides a portfolio of commercial services which generate incremental revenue for the Bar Council;
  5. To make recommendations on new services and revenue opportunities to the Finance Committee, General Management Committee and Bar Council as appropriate;
  6. To consider whether any currently out-sourced services can be brought in-house for the benefit of the profession and the Bar council;
  7. To ensure that contractual arrangements with third party service providers offer appropriate protection for the Bar Council and safeguard its reputation and financial standing;
  8. To conduct research into members’ needs to support proposals for new services as appropriate;
  9. To oversee the work of the Bar Conference Organising Board;
  10. To oversee the work of the Bar Nursery Committee;To support the strategic aims of the Bar Council, as published.

Bar Pro Bono Committee

Sam Mercer

Alison Padfield - 4 New Square

Scott Baldwin - St. Mary's Chambers (Clerk)
Gary Blaker QC - Selborne Chambers
Toby Brown - South Square
Jess Campbell - Bar Pro Bono Unit
Natasha Joffe - Outer Temple Chambers
Lucinda Orr - Enyo Law LLP
Andrew Moran - Serle Court
John Nicholson - Kenworthy's Chambers
Sarah Phillimore - St John's Chambers
Sam Roake - Charter Chambers
Zimran Samuel - 42 Bedford Row
Samantha Singer - QEB Queen Elizabeth Building
Eleanor Holland - 4 Stone Buildings
Paula Sofowora - Senior Legal Counsel, Zurich
Leanne Targett-Parker - 10 Kings Bench Walk
Dermot Keating - 25 Bedford Row
Rory Cochrane - Devereux Chambers 
Thomas de la Mare QC -  Blackstone Chambers


The Terms of Reference are: 

  1. To gather from time to time information about the Bar's pro bono activity (including pro bono legal work and non-legal voluntary work;    
  2. To review from time to time the Bar's pro bono activities and to consider efficiencies and/or solutions where necessary; 
  3. To engage with others in the pro bono community and elsewhere in relation to pro bono matters on behalf of the Bar Council; 
  4. To liaise with the Communications Team about increasing the awareness and knowledge of the Bar's pro bono activity; 
  5. To take such other steps in relation to the Bar's pro bono activity as appear to the Bar Pro Bono Board to be in the interests of justice and in the interests of the Bar.